just keep rollin’ along

Life continues at a leisurely sort of pace.

I’m down 15lbs now in just over 30 days, due entirely to dietary changes.  I’m feeling really good about that.  I think the most important lesson I’ve learned so far–and this applies to so much more than weight issues–is that AN IMPERFECT DAY DOES NOT HAVE TO BE A FAILURE.

Which is to say, if I eat something that throws off my calorie count for the day, I don’t have to give up entirely on the day–just because it may not be a weight loss day doesn’t mean it has to be a weight gain day.  And a bad lunch doesn’t mean I’m doomed.  If I can pull it back together and make good decisions on dinner, the next day is a new start, and I won’t have failed myself.  In life: just because something didn’t go as well as you had hoped, it doesn’t mean it’s the end of the world. Or the end of that dream. Brush it off, learn from your mistakes, and try again–from a better place–tomorrow.

My child is going to be having surgery in the coming weeks/months.  We are waiting for the surgical clinic office to call and schedule her pre-op and surgical appointments.  It’s scary, of course, but this surgery will improve her health and quality of life tremendously.

I’ve noticed a trend lately:  the people I most enjoy being around, the ones who have a calming effect on me and make me feel most stable and secure, all follow Buddhism.  I’m intrigued.  I’ve got some friends sending me links and book titles to check out, and I’m going to try to attend some classes at the local Buddhist Center.  Losing my religious faith was tough for me, and I’m not looking to replace it, but I do miss the sense of community that came with belonging to a local church.  I think the Buddhist philosophy and lifestyle may bring me the support and encouragement I need to maintain my new fargazing lifestyle, as well as a new social circle of like-minded people who will positively affect my life and reinforce the ideals I’m striving to uphold.

This entry was posted in Health/Weight, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Something to Contribute?

