Good Friends, Good Times

Last night, I had a rare night out without the kiddo.

Perhaps rare isn’t the best word, as I get about 2 nights a month where I go help out at a local theatre and see a show, but it’s not often that I get to do more than see the show and rush home.  Last night, I got to go to the show, hang out and visit with theatre folks in the lobby afterward, and then enjoy a relaxed dinner and conversation with some friends.  It was beautiful!

Dinner was with two friends I worked with about a year ago, and this was the first time the three of us had been together in one place since then.  We chatted and laughed, shared a beautiful assortment of sushi, and bonded.  I learned things about one of these men that I hadn’t known before, and that I hadn’t really been close enough to him to know before.  It gave me a whole new insight into the kind of man he is and the overwhelming GOODNESS of his character.  I always knew him to be warm and caring, but the lengths he will go above and beyond the call of duty (as a friend, as a father, as a human) to help others–it’s truly inspiring.  He’s the type of man who appears rough and ragged at first glance, but–if you take the time to get to know him–has all the qualities you wish you had.  He’s the type of person I genuinely wish there were more of.  I hope to spend more time with him.

I have so many hopes and desires right now…  I have a real hankerin’ to dust off my director’s hat, to test my aptitude as a potential playwright, and to find a collaborative partner or team to work on creating some music, whether it be original or homage.  My creative spark is tugging at the back of my brain, demanding attention and an outlet, but I have to be cautious not to overextend myself.  I can only handle eight or nine projects at any one time, and I’ve got school, work, volunteering, activism, my child…  My plate’s pretty full at the moment.

That being said, you have to do what you have to do to create happiness in your life, and I know I will never be happy if I’m not engaged in some sort of creative endeavors…  So I shall continue to audition, I’m participating in a playwriting workshop this summer, and I’m registered in a couple of adult dance classes.  Because if you want to be happy, you have to make it happen.

Sitting around waiting for happiness to happen to you…  It gets you nowhere.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Something to Contribute?

